HARDIN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MINUTES – AUGUST 30, 2021 MONDAY – 1:31 P.M. COURTHOUSE LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM

Vice-chair Renee McClellan called the meeting to order. The purpose of the meeting was to plan for receipt and use of American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds. Also present were Supervisor Lance Granzow; and Michael Pearce, Matt Jones, Jolene Pieters, Jody Mesch, Wes Wiese, Taylor Roll, Connie Mesch, Darrell Meyer, Machel Eichmeier, and Angela Silvey. Attending via Zoom: Jamie Cashman, Jerry Kramer, Mark Buschkamp, Lisa Lawler, Angela De La Riva, and Dave Dunn. Supervisor BJ Hoffman was absent.

Jamie Cashman, ISAC Government Relations Manager, gave an overview of ARPA funds – \$3.2 million of which is earmarked for Hardin County – and types of projects funds can be used for: 1) COVID-19 response and mitigation, including small business relief and tourism, 2) premium pay for essential workers, 3) revenue loss to counties, and 4) broadband, water, and wastewater infrastructure. According to Cashman, the County will receive half its ARPA monies when approved by the U.S. Treasury and the other half one calendar year afterward. The County will have until 2024 to obligate the funding and until 2026 to expend monies. Cashman also touched upon federal reporting requirements.

Cashman encouraged the County to look for large projects to endeavor and to consider working with cities, who are also receiving funds. Cashman also suggested forming a work group to develop a list of projects that fit ARPA criteria.

Questions from McClellan, Taylor Roll, Granzow, Darrell Meyer, Machel Eichmeier, and Wes Wiese were answered.

Cashman left the meeting, and the Zoom meeting ended at 2:09 p.m.

Discussion ensued on forming one or more work groups. Ideas on projects were shared.

Matt Jones and Michael Pearce left the meeting at 2:14 p.m.

It was determined to create one work group consisting of County department heads, minus the Supervisors, and Roll will be the group's lead person.

The meeting ended at 2:37 p.m.

<u>/s/ BJ Hoffman</u> BJ Hoffman, Chair Board of Supervisors <u>/s/ Jolene Pieters</u> Jolene Pieters Hardin County Auditor